Search & find
Reminder (0)
Close-Icon
Reminder

Font A A Contrast A A
Close-Icon

410 events in 2016

It is all about sustainability!

For over ten years, MCG has been an Ökoprofit (eco-profit) partner and is attracting plenty of attention with its 1512-module photovoltaic project on the roof of hall A.

 

Being aware, sustainable and green – these are the buzzwords for a successful business in tomorrow’s world. While MCG previously only hosted green events such as a Biomass Conference or an e-mobility event, it has now integrated environmentally friendly equipment and practices into its own activities.

 

 

 

 

 

Photovoltaics - a mega-trend: 
1512 photovoltaic modules on hall A

A large-scale green infrastructure project was installed on the roof of hall A in cooperation with Energie Graz. The roof surface offers 11.000 m² of space, on which 1512 photovoltaic modules were installed with a 385 kW peak to provide homes in Graz with naturally generated electricity. This is equivalent to CO2 savings of around 170,000kg/a. What is new with this model is the fact that individuals can also participate. "Firstly, sustainable business operations are a crucial part of our corporate philosophy. Secondly, and equally importantly, we can offer immense spaces that are perfect for making use of solar energy", explains Armin Egger, Director and CEO of Messe Congress Graz Betriebsgesellschaft m.b.H. The photovoltaic system on the roof of Stadthalle Graz has already been extended to include another 780 modules.

 

The green MCG

Another essential aspect of MCG's corporate philosophy is taking responsibility, particularly in respect to environmentally sensitive issues. The company partnered with "Ökoprofit" and for over ten years it has been working on saving energy and production costs. The employees were made aware of this focus and the company received an internationally accepted certification for being a "green business". Sustainable activities comprise aspects such as deposit systems for drinking glasses and waste separation at events. Ecologically sustainable action starts on a very small scale with initiatives such as placing a deposit on beer glasses, the separation of waste at events, and can be reflected in ideas like the practical MCG bicycles used by members of staff to cover the distances between various locations. Another innovation in 2016 is the production of promotional materials made of ecologically sustainable substances. Instead of plastic bags, visitors receive Goodie Bags hand-made from felt. Instead of paper bags, MCG visitors are now handed carrier bags made from biodegradable materials and printed using environmentally friendly inks. The most popular of all give-aways, the MCG ballpoint pen, is made of environmentally friendly rolled paper. Since 2016, another contribution MCG has made towards environmental protection has been the introduction of marked boxes for used batteries at various MCG locations. Once full, MCG also ensures the boxes are disposed of in a proper, ecologically sustainable manner.

It's not only the MCG team that thinks green. The venues also participate in the ongoing development of their energy efficiency. Since August 2015, as a consequence of the ongoing renovation of the Merkur ice stadium, the two natural gas boilers, used for heating and for warm water production, have been replaced with environmentally friendly district heating. In early 2016 a high-temperature heat pump was also installed. The heat lost from the cooling system at approximately 40°C is boosted to around 85°C. In this way, in the winter months and the cooler transition periods, a large proportion of the ice stadium's heat requirements can be provided for internally, and in the summer this energy is exploited efficiently by feeding it into the City of Graz district heating network. It is estimated that these changes have led to an amazing annual saving of 332 tonnes of CO2!

The award show "Congress Awards" is hoseted by MCG in cooperation with the office of the Mayor of Graz and the Graz Tourismus GmbH. Awards are given to congress organisers in a wide range of categories. The show was first staged and certified as a "Green Event" in 2012.

 

On the way to international benchmarks with EVVC

MCG sets international standards as a long-serving member of the EVVC, the European Association of Event Centres. The "fairpflichtet" programme defines ten principles with which business activity must comply – from taking over responsibility, the common good, a conscientious approach to dealing with resources and energy, transparency and respect, to strategic behaviour – the entire list being aimed at encouraging businesses to take over responsibility for their corporate activities. MCG plays a leading role in the implementation of these principles. As a public business entity MCG does not just have green in its logo: By implementing a series of measures, it has already shown that it also accepts responsibility for the environment. The new photovoltaic system is yet another step along this path.

In-house expo planning and construction service amb | graz

1.512 photovoltaic

modules on hall A, another 780 on Stadthalle Graz.

 

 

 


You may also
be interested in
following events

similar Events
more

Social
Media
Newsroom

Show all >

Instagram

instagramphoto

Wir sind on cloud number 9 ❤️🎶#bryanadams #liveatmcg #wemakeithappen #stadthallegraz

Suchen & Finden
Merkliste (0)
Close-Icon
Merkliste

Schrift A A Kontrast A A
Close-Icon

411 Veranstaltungen an 668 Veranstaltungstagen im Jahr 2015

Nachhaltigkeit bringt’s!

Seit über zehn Jahren ist die MCG Ökoprofit-Partner und sorgt nun mit einer großen Photovoltaikanlage mit 1.512 Modulen auf der Halle A für gewaltiges Aufsehen.

 

Bewusst, nachhaltig, grün – das sind die Schlagwörter für zukunftsorientiertes Wirtschaften. War die Messe Congress Graz Betriebsgesellschaft m.b.H. bis jetzt nur Veranstalter einschlägiger Events wie der Biomassekonferenz oder der e-mobility, hat sich dies nun deutlich auch auf ihr eigenes Handeln ausgewirkt.

 

 

 

Megatrend Photovoltaik:
1.512 Photovoltaikmodule auf Halle A, weitere 780 auf Stadthalle Graz

Gemeinsam mit der Energie Graz entsteht ein Großprojekt auf dem Dach der Halle A. Auf der 11.000 m2 großen Dachfläche werden bis Herbst 1.512 Photovoltaikmodule mit einer Nennleistung von 385 kWp angebracht. Diese versorgen Grazer Haushalte mit Naturstrom - eine Leistung, die einer jährlichen CO2-Einsparung von ca. 170.000kg/a entspricht. Neu bei diesem Modell ist, dass sich Privatpersonen beteiligen können. „Zum einen ist nachhaltiges Wirtschaften Teil unserer Unternehmensphilosophie, zum anderen verfügen wir über riesige Flächen, die perfekt für die Nutzung der Sonnenenergie geeignet sind“, meint Armin Egger, Vorstand/CEO der Messe Congress Graz Betriebsgesellschaft m.b.H. Die Photovoltaik-Anlage wurde bereits durch weitere 780 Module am Dach der Stadthalle Graz erweitert.

 

Die "grüne" MCG

Verantwortung zu übernehmen, gerade auch bei Umweltthemen, ist für die MCG ein wesentlicher Teil der Firmenphilosophie. Als Partner von Ökoprofit arbeiten wir bereits seit über zehn Jahren bewusst an der Einsparung von Energie- und Produktionskosten, haben unsere Mitarbeiter auf das Thema sensibilisiert und sind international als „grüner Betrieb“ zertifiziert. Das nachhaltige Handeln beginnt aber bei Kleinigkeiten wie zum Beispiel beim Pfandbechersystem, bei der Mülltrennung bei Veranstaltungen, oder bei den MCG-Drahteseln, mit denen die Mitarbeiter die Wege zwischen den Locations praktisch mit dem Rad erledigen können. Neu im Programm sind seit 2016 außerdem Werbemittel aus nachhaltigen Materialien – anstatt Taschen aus Kunststoffen werden Goodie Bags nun mit Taschen aus Filz vorbereitet, anstatt Papiersackerln bekommen MCG-Besucher nun Tragetaschen aus kompostierbarem Material samt Druck mit umweltfreundlichen Farben. Der Liebling unter den Give-Aways, der Kugelschreiber, ist bei der MCG ebenfalls nachhaltig, nämlich aus gerolltem Papier, gestaltet. Und noch einen weiteren Beitrag zum Umweltschutz leistet die MCG: seit Sommer 2016 stehen an den verschiedenen MCG-Standorten Boxen bereit, in denen leere Batterien gesammelt werden. Das Unternehmen sorgt dann für die nachhaltige und richtige Entsorgung der vollen Sammelboxen.

 

Doch nicht nur das Team der MCG denkt nachhaltig, auch die Locations werden energiefreundlicher weiterentwickelt. Im Zuge der aktuellen Renovierung des Merkur Eisstadions erfolgt die Beheizung und Warmwassererzeugung dort seit August 2015 mit umweltfreundlicher Fernwärme anstatt durch zwei Erdgaskessel. Im Frühjahr 2016 erfolgte zusätzlich der Einbau einer Hochtemperaturwärmepumpe. Die Abwärme aus der Kälteanlage (ca. 40°C) wird dann auf ca. 85°C aufgeheizt. Im Winter und in den kühleren Übergangszeiten kann damit ein Großteil des eigenen Wärmebedarfs für das Eisstadion gedeckt werden, im Sommer wird diese Energie zusätzlich ins Fernwärmenetz der Stadt Graz eingespeist und so sinnvoll genutzt. Dursch diese Umstellungen können jährlich sage und schreibe 332 Tonnen CO2 eingespart werden!

 

Weiters wird in der MCG auch „grün“ veranstaltet. Die in Kooperation mit dem Bürgermeisteramt der Stadt Graz sowie der Graz Tourismus GmbH ausgerufene Verleihung der Congress Awards, bei der jährlich Preise an Kongress-Veranstalter in unterschiedlichen Kategorien vergeben werden, wurde 2012 erstmals als "Green Event" ausgerichtet und zertifiziert.

 

Mit dem EVVC zu internationalen Maßstäben

Internationale Maßstäbe setzt die MCG mit ihrer langjährigen Mitgliedschaft beim EVVC, dem Europäischen Verband der Veranstaltungszentren. Das Programm „fairpflichtet“ hat zehn Leitsätze formuliert, nach denen das wirtschaftliche Handeln ausgerichtet wird. Von der Verantwortung über das Gemeinwohl, einen gewissenhaften Umgang mit Ressourcen und Energie, Transparenz, Respekt, bis hin zum strategischen Handeln gilt es hier, unternehmerische Verantwortung zu übernehmen. Bei der Umsetzung dieser Punkte nimmt die MCG eine Führungsrolle ein. Als öffentliches Unternehmen setzt die MCG somit nicht nur im Logo auf Grün, sondern zeigt mit verschiedenen Maßnahmen Verantwortung für ihre Umwelt. Die Photovoltaikanlage ist ein weiterer großer Schritt auf diesem Weg.

eigener Messebauer

amb | graz

1.512 Photovoltaik-
Module auf Halle A

weitere 780 auf Stadthalle Graz


Folgende Events
könnten Sie auch
interessieren

ähnliche Veranstaltungen
mehr

Social
Media
Newsroom

Alles zeigen >

Instagram

instagramphoto

Merkur Eisstadion - der Ort, an dem Feuer in den Herzen brennt. Vor allem auch in denen unserer Heimmannschaft, den @mmgraz99ers 💛🔥 #merkureisstadion #jedermomentzählt